Renzo’s e-mail and Apple Cake

19 Feb

Couple of days ago I sent an e-mail to this good good friend of mine, Italian, but that lives in Brazil for quite a long time, asking for his Carbonara recipe. He was the chef of my 32 years old party, back in 2000 and (?? better not say!) and everybody absolutely LOVED his Spaguetti Carbonara. Actually it was the best Carbonara I ever tasted it! I asked him for the recipe and he not only sent the Carbonara recipe but also sent me this lovely Apple+Walnuts cake’s recipe. I bought the ingredients straight away and last night, on a Friday night, while most of the population was out having fun, I was having fun myself baking a new cake!!!🙂

The cake it’s pretty easy to make and DELICIOUS but the difficult bit was keep my flatmates under control… they were around me like flies around rotten bananas!!! They couldn’t stop asking me “is it ready yet? can we eat? can we eat hot? Oh, we really like cakes when they are warm, we don’t need to wait until it’s cold do we?” Oh dear!!!!!!

Renzo, the cake last for about… 2 hours?? We stayed at the kitchen until 2am chatting and eating the cake. Friday nights like that are priceless.

“You call for help and here I am, I have a couple of recipes for you, the Carbonara (unfortunately I don’t have a picture, but next time I or you make one we can take a pic of it!) and the other is a apple cake…a very good and simple one to make, I got the recipe from a old lady back at the time I was living in the US, you should try it  and let me know!
Hey, your blog is very interesting, you write with style, I’m serious, you’re very good at it, I’m sure you would have success in jobs requiring writing skills like journalism…never thought of that?? ”  (Renzo, when I was trying to graduate in Biology, I thought of changing careers and going for Journalism… but I liked marine mammals more than anything else so see, it didn’t work either way!Anyway, thanks for the compliment🙂🙂 ).
 Renzo, grazie mille for your recipe!!!

 

Raw Apple Cake

 

 

Apple and Walnuts Cake (Grazie Renzo!!!)

 

2 cups raw apples cubed

2 eggs

1 cup sugar (or less if on a diet!)

1/4 cup cooking oil1 cup chopped walnuts (or mixed nuts) and raisins 

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 teaspoon cinnamon1 cup flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

¼ teaspoon salt

 1 teaspoon of baking powder (it wasn’t written in the recipe but I guess it was forgotten)

 In a bowl combine apples with eggs, add sugar and oil. Add walnuts, vanilla and cinnamon. Sift together flour, soda and salt, add to first mixture and blend well. Lemon rind can be added if desired.

Place the mixture in a buttered baking pan and bake at 350C oven for 40 minutes (I believe the 350 is F and not C!!) 

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Renzo’s e-mail and Apple Cake”

  1. SOLANGE March 5, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    PARECE SER DELICIOSO.
    VOU TESTAR A RECEITA E ENVIOU MEU TESTEMUNHO.
    ABRAÇO
    SOLANGE

  2. SOLANGE March 5, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    CARISSIMA
    PARECE DELICIOSO
    JÁ COBREI A RECEITA DO CARBONARA..RS
    ESTA AQUI VOU FAZER E ESCREVO MEU TESTEMUNHO…
    GRATISSIMA

    • receitasamigas March 7, 2011 at 10:52 am #

      Solange,

      O bolo ficou gostoso mesmo!!
      Vou postar a receita do carbonara jah que voce e outras amigas me cobraram, rsrsrs… porem sem foto, ate eu ter um tempinho pra fazer e bater uma fotinho decente…
      Esperamos pelo seu testemunho entao!!
      Abraco
      Lize

Leave a Reply

